YABO Power - LiFePO4 Battery Pack Manufacturer
Shenzhen Yabopower Technology Co., Ltd. - Shenzhen, China
Blog

A Large Home Pack in Focus: What 230Ah at 48V Means in Practice

A home pack listed at 230Ah and 48V stores 12kWh of energy. That headline figure is easy to quote, but it does not by itself describe what the pack can do in a house. This article explains what 230Ah at 48V means in practice, using the largest home pack on this site as its example. It does not give a capacity recommendation for a particular house, because that recommendation needs the load data for that house.

From amp-hours to kilowatt-hours

Amp-hours and kilowatt-hours describe different things, and the conversion between them needs the voltage. A pack at 230Ah and 48V nominal stores 230 multiplied by 48, which is 11,040 watt-hours, or about 11kWh, before rounding and before the nominal voltage is refined to 51.2 V for the system, which gives 12kWh in the listed figure. That arithmetic is straightforward, but it hides a distinction: the headline stored energy is not the same as the usable energy, because usable energy depends on the depth of discharge and on the inverter efficiency. The 230Ah figure also does not describe the pack's power: power depends on the discharge current, which is not listed for this home model in the material used for this page, and must be confirmed per model in the enquiry.

Depth of discharge describes how much of a pack's capacity is used before it is recharged. Using a smaller depth of discharge generally leaves more cycles available, while deep discharges use more capacity per cycle. Cycle-life figures therefore only make sense with the test condition attached, such as the discharge rate and the capacity remaining at the end of the test. This site reports cycle life per model with its stated condition, and does not convert one model's figure into a range-wide claim.

What a 12kWh pack can and cannot do

A 12kWh pack can cover a household's overnight load in many cases, depending on the load profile, but it cannot be assumed to cover every household's overnight load, because overnight loads vary widely. A household with a small overnight load - lighting, refrigeration, a router and small appliances - may find that a 12kWh pack covers the night comfortably, with energy to spare. A household with electric heating, air conditioning or an electric cooker running overnight may find that the same pack does not cover the night, even though 12kWh sounds large in the abstract. The load profile, not the headline figure, decides whether the pack is sufficient. A 12kWh pack also cannot be assumed to work with every inverter, because the inverter's voltage range, charge settings and cut-off settings must match the pack's listed limits.

For a business enquiry, the most useful details are the system voltage, the capacity, the expected discharge current, the operating temperature range and the physical space available. A pack that fits on paper can still fail in use if the discharge current, the temperature range or the terminal layout does not match the application. That is why this site asks buyers to confirm specifications per model, rather than selecting from a generic table.

Size, weight and installation for a large pack

A large home pack needs a planned installation position, with space for ventilation, cable access and maintenance. The dimensions and weight for this home model are confirmed per model in the enquiry, because they are not listed in the material used for this page, and they should not be borrowed from the smaller home packs, which have different dimensions and weights. A buyer planning a large home pack should check the available space, including cable access and maintenance access, before an order is placed, rather than discovering a space problem during installation. Handling is also a practical consideration: a pack of this size should be handled by competent persons, with appropriate equipment, and it should be mounted securely in its final position.

A battery management system watches the cells in a pack and disconnects the pack when a limit is crossed. The exact limits depend on the model, so buyers should check the protection list for the model they are considering rather than assuming every pack in a range shares the same list. In the models listed on this site, protection typically covers over-charge, over-discharge, over-current, over-temperature and short circuit, with cell balancing on some models only. Where a model page does not list balancing, it is not claimed for that model.

Sizing a large pack honestly

Sizing a large home pack honestly means starting from the overnight load in energy terms, converting the headline stored-energy figures of the candidate packs to usable energy at a stated depth of discharge, and comparing the usable figures with the overnight load, allowing a margin for inverter losses and for days when the load is higher than usual. That method is explained in the sizing guide on this site, and it applies to the large pack as much as to the smaller packs. If the target usable energy falls between two home sizes, the enquiry should discuss whether the larger size or a different arrangement is more appropriate, rather than assuming that the nearest size is automatically the right choice.

Nominal voltage is the working voltage used to describe a pack, while charge voltage and cut-off voltage are separate limits. A 12.8 V pack, a 25.6 V pack and a 51.2 V pack belong to different systems and are not interchangeable, even when their capacities look similar. Buyers should confirm the system voltage, the charge voltage and the cut-off voltage for the exact model, and should check that the existing charger or inverter settings match those limits before ordering.

What this article does not do

This article does not recommend a capacity for a particular house, because that recommendation needs the load profile, the solar array size and the inverter limits for that house. It does not give a backup duration for this pack, because backup duration depends on the load during an outage, the inverter efficiency and the depth of discharge. It does not state a selling figure, because this site does not list fixed selling figures. It does not give a full specification table for this model, because only its capacity and protection functions are listed in the material used for this page, and other values are confirmed per model. Those limits are stated openly, so a reader does not mistake a general discussion of a large pack for a complete specification.

Quotations are confirmed per order. Minimum order quantity and lead time are unavailable on this site, so they are not stated as company policy and must be confirmed per model in the enquiry. This site does not list fixed selling figures, because a figure depends on the model, the quantity and the order terms. A quotation should list the model, the quantity and the specification confirmed for that model, so the buyer and the manufacturer are working from the same description.

Enquiry checklist

Before sending an enquiry, note the voltage, capacity, quantity, application and any required certification document. State whether the pack will be used indoors or outdoors, and whether a display or a particular terminal type is needed. Minimum order quantity and lead time are unavailable on this site and are confirmed per model in the enquiry. Quotations are confirmed per order.

Send an enquiry  |  Telephone: +86-755-29040095, +86-18576759460  |  Email: michael_he@yabopower.com

Frequently asked questions

How do I get a quotation?

Send an enquiry with the voltage, capacity and quantity you need, plus the application. Quotations are confirmed per order, and specifications are confirmed per model before payment. This site does not list fixed selling figures.

What certification documents can you provide?

ISO 9001 is stated by the company. Certificates are available upon request. If a buyer needs a certificate for a specific model, ask for it in the enquiry and name the model, so the correct document can be checked.

Are the specifications on this page valid for every model?

No. Specifications are shown per model and must not be read across the whole range. Where a value is not listed for a model, the page says to confirm per model rather than filling in a generic figure.

Related pages