5kWh vs 8.7kWh vs 12kWh Home Battery: Which Size Fits a House?
A household comparing home battery packs often starts with three stored-energy figures: 5kWh, 8.7kWh and 12kWh. Those three figures correspond to three distinct home models on this site, not to three settings of a single model. This article explains how to compare them by load, solar input and inverter limits, without giving a capacity recommendation for a particular house, because a recommendation needs the load data for that house.
Start from the overnight load
The most useful starting point is the overnight load in energy terms, such as kilowatt-hours per night, rather than a list of appliances without durations. A refrigerator, lighting, a router and a few small appliances together use far less energy overnight than electric heating or air conditioning. A household that only needs to cover a small overnight load may find that the smallest home pack covers the night comfortably, while a household with a larger overnight load may need to compare the larger packs. The difference is a matter of energy arithmetic, and the arithmetic needs the load durations, not only the load list.
Depth of discharge describes how much of a pack's capacity is used before it is recharged. Using a smaller depth of discharge generally leaves more cycles available, while deep discharges use more capacity per cycle. Cycle-life figures therefore only make sense with the test condition attached, such as the discharge rate and the capacity remaining at the end of the test. This site reports cycle life per model with its stated condition, and does not convert one model's figure into a range-wide claim.
Solar input changes the comparison
Where a house has solar panels, the solar array size and the daily solar generation affect which pack size makes sense. If the solar array is small relative to the load, a large pack will rarely be charged fully, and a smaller pack may be a better fit. If the solar array is large relative to the load, a larger pack can store more of the daytime surplus. Seasonal variation also matters: solar generation is typically higher in summer and lower in winter, while household load may follow the opposite pattern where heating is electric. A buyer comparing pack sizes should consider the seasonal pattern, not only a single day's generation.
For a business enquiry, the most useful details are the system voltage, the capacity, the expected discharge current, the operating temperature range and the physical space available. A pack that fits on paper can still fail in use if the discharge current, the temperature range or the terminal layout does not match the application. That is why this site asks buyers to confirm specifications per model, rather than selecting from a generic table.
Inverter limits decide compatibility
The inverter's voltage range, charge settings and cut-off settings must match the pack's listed limits. A pack that does not match the inverter cannot serve the house regardless of its stored energy, and a pack that matches the inverter but is too small for the load will not cover the night. The three home packs on this site share a 48V system voltage, but they differ in capacity, dimensions and, where listed, current limits and protection details. Those differences should be compared on their own product pages, rather than assuming that a larger pack is simply a scaled-up version of a smaller pack.
Nominal voltage is the working voltage used to describe a pack, while charge voltage and cut-off voltage are separate limits. A 12.8 V pack, a 25.6 V pack and a 51.2 V pack belong to different systems and are not interchangeable, even when their capacities look similar. Buyers should confirm the system voltage, the charge voltage and the cut-off voltage for the exact model, and should check that the existing charger or inverter settings match those limits before ordering.
Backup duration is not the same as stored energy
Backup duration depends on the load during an outage, the inverter efficiency and the depth of discharge, not only on the stored-energy figure. A 12kWh pack serving a small load will last far longer in an outage than the same pack serving a large load, and a 5kWh pack serving a small load may last longer than a 12kWh pack serving a large load. That is why this article does not give a backup duration for any pack: a duration without a load profile is not a meaningful figure, and a buyer who relies on such a figure may be misled about what the pack will actually deliver in an outage.
Cycle life is measured under a stated test condition, and the condition matters as much as the headline number. A figure measured at a low discharge rate and a shallow depth of discharge cannot be compared directly with a figure measured at a higher rate and a deeper depth, because the tests differ. A buyer comparing models should therefore read the condition behind each figure, and should ask for any missing detail — rate, depth of discharge, capacity remaining and temperature — before ranking two models against each other.
What this article does not recommend
This article does not recommend a capacity for a particular house, because that recommendation needs the load profile, the solar array size and the inverter limits for that house. It does not state a selling figure, because this site does not list fixed selling figures. It does not state a minimum order quantity or a lead time, because those are unavailable on this site. Buyers who need a sizing recommendation should enquire with the load data, the solar array size and the inverter details, so a model-specific confirmation can be given.
Quotations are confirmed per order. Minimum order quantity and lead time are unavailable on this site, so they are not stated as company policy and must be confirmed per model in the enquiry. This site does not list fixed selling figures, because a figure depends on the model, the quantity and the order terms. A quotation should list the model, the quantity and the specification confirmed for that model, so the buyer and the manufacturer are working from the same description.
Enquiry checklist
Before sending an enquiry, note the voltage, capacity, quantity, application and any required certification document. State whether the pack will be used indoors or outdoors, and whether a display or a particular terminal type is needed. Minimum order quantity and lead time are unavailable on this site and are confirmed per model in the enquiry. Quotations are confirmed per order.
Send an enquiry | Telephone: +86-755-29040095, +86-18576759460 | Email: michael_he@yabopower.com
Frequently asked questions
How do I get a quotation?
Send an enquiry with the voltage, capacity and quantity you need, plus the application. Quotations are confirmed per order, and specifications are confirmed per model before payment. This site does not list fixed selling figures.
What certification documents can you provide?
ISO 9001 is stated by the company. Certificates are available upon request. If a buyer needs a certificate for a specific model, ask for it in the enquiry and name the model, so the correct document can be checked.
Are the specifications on this page valid for every model?
No. Specifications are shown per model and must not be read across the whole range. Where a value is not listed for a model, the page says to confirm per model rather than filling in a generic figure.